School Board

About the Board

The Dinwiddie County School Board is made up of five elected members serving four-year terms each time elected. The school board supervises the day-to-day operations of the public schools, implements and enforces school laws / policies, cares for and manages the school divisions’ properties, provides for the consolidation of schools, determines the length of the school term, determines the methods of teaching, appoints the division superintendent, and hires, employs, and terminates personnel.

In an effort to distribute documents associated with board meetings more quickly, efficiently, and cost effectively, Dinwiddie County School Board began leveraging the internet to better communicate with the public. All Board meeting dates, information, and minutes are now posted online. Select "Enter Public Site" to view up-to-date board information.


District 1

  • Jerry Schnepf

District 2

  • Betty Haney
  • 804-732-6229

District 3

  • Barbara Pittman
  • 804-861-8501

District 4

  • Mary Benjamin
  • 434-246-4820

District 5

  •  Sherilyn Merritt
  • 804-861-9647