Program Details

The Medicaid program helps certain groups of low-income people with payments for health and medical care. The local social service agency in the county where you live takes applications and determines eligibility. The Department of Medical Assistance Services pays the bills to providers.

Medicaid is divided into three basic programs:

  • Aged, Blind, and Disabled
  • Families and Children
  • Long Term Care

Medicaid is different from Medicare. Medicare is a federal health insurance program for people who are age 65 or older or disabled. It is administered by the Social Security Administration.

Health Insurance Program for Children

Family Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) is a health insurance program for uninsured children under age 19. You may request FAMIS by calling the FAMIS Central Operation Center, at 1 (855) 242-8282, or by submitting the FAMIS / Medicaid application to your local social service department.

Additional Resource